Last updated: August 6, 2026
Correction record
This page previously carried a briefing published on 17 April 2026 and last updated on 29 May 2026. That briefing has been replaced. Six statements in it did not survive a direct reading of the Claude Opus 4.7 system card and Anthropic’s platform documentation on 6 August 2026. They are listed here rather than removed silently.
| What the April briefing said | What the sources say |
|---|---|
| Referred to Opus 4.7’s 200K context window. | The published specification is 1M, with 128k maximum output on the synchronous API. Anthropic’s migration guide, models overview and release notes state 1M. The 200k figure does not describe this model’s context window. |
| Said Amazon Bedrock listed Opus 4.7 as a research preview rather than generally available. | Anthropic’s release note for the launch date describes self-serve availability to all Bedrock customers across 27 AWS regions. The research preview label applied to fast mode, which is a separate feature, not to the model on Bedrock. |
| Said Anthropic openly states that Opus 4.7 had its cyber capabilities differentially reduced during training. | Section 3.1 of the system card says Anthropic experimented with efforts to differentially reduce those capabilities. An experiment with an approach is not a completed reduction. |
| Said the system card gives differential capability reduction as the reason for the UK AI Security Institute result. | Section 3.4 gives no reason for that result. The differential-reduction sentence sits in section 3.1 as general framing and is not attached to the AISI finding. |
| Attributed the 7.8% accidental chain-of-thought supervision figure to section 4.2. | The figure is correct. It appears in section 2.4.1. |
| Said the UK AI Security Institute found that Opus 4.6 completed more steps than Opus 4.7 on the cyber-range task family. | The step comparison is accurate, with two scope defects. It was one cyber range, not a task family, and Opus 4.6 also failed to solve it. The system card also reports AISI’s conclusions rather than AISI publishing them independently, so the finding is Anthropic reporting an external result. |
The fourth item is the one worth naming as a method failure rather than a fact error. Two accurate passages from different sections were joined by a causal connective that neither passage supplies. Both halves were true and the sentence was not. That is the failure mode this publication exists to catch, and it reached publication here.
Corrections established by direct reading on 6 August 2026. Sources: Anthropic, Claude Opus 4.7 System Card, 16 April 2026 · Anthropic, Release notes · Anthropic, Migration guide
Document-first audit. FSR did not run Claude Opus 4.7. No latency, reliability, output-quality, or production-cost figure below was produced by Future Stack Reviews. Sources are vendor documentation and named third-party measurement, read on 6 August 2026.
Claude Opus 4.7 is an Anthropic language model released on 16 April 2026. As of 6 August 2026 Anthropic lists it as Active, with no deprecation date and a tentative retirement date no earlier than 16 April 2027. Anthropic has since released Opus 4.8 and Opus 5. All three carry the same base API rate.
Verdict: An existing standard-speed Opus 4.7 deployment faces no first-party retirement deadline today. Active is a lifecycle status, not a compatibility warranty, so the migration question should be settled by dependency audit rather than by model age or benchmark headline.
Sources: Anthropic, 16 April 2026 · Anthropic, Model deprecations, read 6 August 2026 · Anthropic, Pricing, read 6 August 2026
What happened
At launch, 16 April 2026 — Anthropic
- A new tokenizer shipped. The launch post put the effect at roughly 1.0 to 1.35 times as many tokens for the same input; current pricing documentation summarizes it as approximately 30% more tokens for the same text.
- Non-default
temperature,top_p, andtop_kbegan returning a 400 error. - Manual extended thinking budgets and assistant message prefill were no longer accepted.
- An
xhigheffort level and automatic high-resolution image input up to 2,576 pixels on the long edge were added.
After launch — Anthropic
- 12 May 2026: fast mode added for Opus 4.7 as a research preview behind a beta header.
- 25 June 2026: fast mode for Opus 4.7 deprecated.
- 24 July 2026: fast mode removed. Requests return an error and, unlike Opus 4.6, do not fall back to standard speed. Opus 4.7 itself continues at standard speed.
After launch — Artificial Analysis
- 15 June 2026: Intelligence Index v4.1 published, updating three evaluations, removing one, and changing the weighting. Scores before and after belong to different index versions.
Unchanged as of 6 August 2026
- Lifecycle status Active, no deprecation date, tentative retirement no earlier than 16 April 2027, which is 253 days from this reading.
- Base rate of $5 per million input tokens and $25 per million output tokens.
- 1M context window, 128k maximum output on the synchronous API.
Sources: Anthropic, Release notes, entries 16 April, 12 May, 25 June and 24 July 2026 · Anthropic, 16 April 2026 · Anthropic, Pricing · Artificial Analysis, 15 June 2026
This affects you if
- Any code path still sends
speed: "fast"toclaude-opus-4-7 - You migrated from Opus 4.6 or earlier and carried sampling parameters, thinking budgets, or prefill forward
- You call Opus 4.7 through Amazon Bedrock or Google Cloud, where retirement schedules are set independently
- You budget from the base token rate without modelling cache, effort, Batch, region, or image tokens
- You are comparing benchmark figures captured at different dates
This does not affect you if
- You are choosing a model for a new build. Opus 4.7 is not in Anthropic’s current starting-model guidance
- You use Claude only through consumer subscriptions, where model access is not billed per token
- You already completed a migration to Opus 4.8 or Opus 5 and retired the 4.7 paths
- Your deployment never used fast mode, non-default sampling, prefill, or manual thinking budgets
Sources: Anthropic, Migration guide · Anthropic, Choosing a model · Anthropic, Model deprecations
What you can decide from this briefing, and what you cannot
| Settled by the documents | Requires your own testing |
|---|---|
| Whether the model is still supported and when it can be retired | Whether it performs adequately on your workload |
| Which request fields are rejected, and with what error | How your monitoring, retries, and routing handle those rejections |
| The published rate card and every documented modifier | Cost per completed task on your traffic |
| Which features exist on each successor model | Whether your prompts and effort settings reproduce after migration |
| The conditions attached to a published benchmark score | Whether that score predicts anything about your application |
Contents
On this briefing
What Active states, and what it does not
Anthropic publishes four lifecycle states. Active is defined as fully supported and recommended for use, followed by Legacy, Deprecated, and Retired. Opus 4.7 sits in the first state with no deprecation date assigned. Anthropic also states that customers with active deployments receive at least 60 days of notice before a publicly released model is retired.
Those sentences are worth reading for what they do not extend to. The lifecycle page does not state that a preview feature will remain available for the life of the model. It does not state that every request field accepted on the launch date will continue to be accepted. It does not state that partner platforms will use the same dates, and in fact says the opposite: the published schedule applies to Anthropic-operated surfaces, while Amazon Bedrock and Google Cloud set their own.
There is one place where Anthropic has closed a related ambiguity. Model identifiers are documented as pinned snapshots rather than pointers that quietly advance to a newer model, including the dateless identifiers introduced with the 4.6 generation. A team that pins claude-opus-4-7 is calling a fixed model. The precise buyer statement is therefore narrower than either optimism or suspicion would suggest. The model snapshot is fixed and supported. The commercial service around it, meaning preview features, accepted request configurations, platform schedules, pricing modifiers, and the external measurements people quote, is governed separately.
The platform point is worth making concrete, because the two lifecycle systems do not share a vocabulary. Anthropic publishes four states. Amazon Bedrock publishes three: Active, Legacy, and End-of-Life. Bedrock’s commitment is shaped differently too. Where Anthropic gives a tentative retirement floor plus at least 60 days of notice, AWS states that once a model launches on Bedrock it remains available for at least 12 months before its EOL date. Bedrock also exposes the state programmatically, in a lifecycle field returned by its foundation-model API calls, which Anthropic’s own surface does not offer. A team running the same model on both is holding two different clocks, and only one of them can be queried from code.
Sources: Anthropic, Model deprecations, read 6 August 2026 · Anthropic, Models overview · AWS, Amazon Bedrock model lifecycle
Fast mode and the failure-semantics gap
Anthropic added fast mode support for Opus 4.7 on 12 May 2026 as a research preview behind a beta header, deprecated it on 25 June, and removed it on 24 July. Twenty-nine days of notice, published in the release notes rather than in the model lifecycle table.
The removal is defensible on its own terms. The feature was labelled a research preview from its first entry. Preview features carry preview risk, and nothing in the lifecycle definition covers them.
The engineering finding sits one level down, in how the removal was implemented. Anthropic’s release note draws the contrast itself: requests to Opus 4.7 with the fast speed setting now return an error and, unlike Opus 4.6, do not fall back to standard speed. The same option, withdrawn from two adjacent models, produces two different outcomes. On 4.6 a stale request degrades silently and bills at the standard rate. On 4.7 it fails.
For an integration this matters more than the removal date. A routing or retry layer written against the 4.6 behavior handles a fallback that no longer occurs, which means the code path most likely to still carry a fast speed setting is also the code path least likely to be watching for an error. The documents establish the difference in API behavior. What any given production system logged or surfaced is not something FSR can determine from documents.
Sources: Anthropic, Release notes, entries 12 May, 25 June and 24 July 2026 · Anthropic, Pricing, fast mode availability
Choosing between 4.7, 4.8 and 5
All three models carry the same base rate. The choice is therefore not a price comparison but a dependency comparison.
Migration decision matrix
| Your dependency | Stay on 4.7 | Move to 4.8 | Move to 5 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard speed only | Viable | Viable | Viable |
| Fast mode required | Removed 24 July 2026 | Available, research preview | Available, research preview |
| Priority Tier | Not stated directly | Kept | Not supported |
| Web fetch tool | Supported | Supported | Not available |
| Requests sent without thinking | Run without thinking | Run without thinking | Adaptive thinking on by default |
| Thinking disabled at xhigh or max | Accepted | Accepted | Returns 400 per request |
| Minimum cacheable prompt | Above 1,024, not published | 1,024 tokens | 512 tokens |
| Base rate | $5 / $25 per MTok | $5 / $25 per MTok | $5 / $25 per MTok |
Read from Anthropic’s migration guide and pricing documentation on 6 August 2026. Priority Tier on Opus 4.7 is not stated directly; the guide instructs organizations with a Priority Tier commitment leaving 4.7 to plan capacity separately, and states that Opus 4.8 keeps it. Effort levels are recalibrated between generations, so a setting tuned on 4.7 does not carry a comparable compute budget elsewhere.
Staying on Opus 4.7 is defensible when the deployment uses standard speed, still passes your own evaluations, sits on a platform whose retirement schedule you have checked, and needs nothing that only a newer model provides. Anthropic’s first-party lifecycle table imposes no deadline on that position today, which is not the same as evidence that staying is optimal.
Opus 4.8 is the smaller move. It launched with the same base rate, the same 1M context window and 128k output limit, the same tool and platform set as 4.7, and it retains fast mode as a research preview. Smaller is a hypothesis about migration cost, not an FSR measurement of it.
Opus 5 is the larger re-baseline. Anthropic prices it identically but documents behavioral and entitlement differences: adaptive thinking is on by default, disabling thinking at xhigh or max effort returns a 400 enforced on every individual request, and web fetch and Priority Tier are not available. Anthropic describes out-of-the-box performance as strong while still instructing developers to run a fresh effort sweep and re-evaluate cost and latency rather than carrying settings across.
One property of Opus 5 has no equivalent on 4.7 and deserves its own line in a dependency audit. Opus 5 ships with cybersecurity safety classifiers, and Anthropic documents that cyber-category refusals can fall back to Opus 4.8. A refusal returns as a successful HTTP 200 with a refusal stop reason rather than an error. The billing rule is documented and specific: input tokens are not billed when a request is refused before any output is generated, but when a classifier fires mid-stream, the input and the already-streamed output are billed and the partial output is discarded. A team migrating from 4.7 acquires a failure mode that bills, returns 200, and may be answered by a different model than the one requested.
Sources: Anthropic, Migration guide, read 6 August 2026 · Anthropic, What’s new in Claude Opus 4.8 · Anthropic, Pricing
Why the base rate does not settle cost
Opus 4.7, Opus 4.8, and Opus 5 all list at $5 per million input tokens and $25 per million output tokens. That figure answers a procurement question and not a budgeting one.
Six documented modifiers sit between the rate card and an invoice, and they move in both directions. Cache writes cost more than fresh input, at $6.25 per million for the five-minute tier and $10 for the one-hour tier, while cache hits cost $0.50, one tenth of standard input. Batch processing halves both sides, to $2.50 and $12.50. US-only inference adds a 1.1 multiplier on qualifying first-party surfaces. Tool definitions add a fixed system-prompt overhead of 675 or 804 tokens depending on configuration, with the bash tool adding 325 more and the text editor tool 700. Automatic high-resolution image input can consume roughly three times the image tokens of earlier models. Effort level changes how many output tokens a task produces.
The tokenizer is the modifier most often quoted and least often bounded. Anthropic’s launch post gave a range of roughly 1.0 to 1.35 times as many tokens for the same input. Current pricing documentation compresses that to approximately 30% more tokens for the same text. Neither page publishes a distribution by content type, so a buyer cannot locate their own workload inside the range.
An inflated input meter suggests a higher bill, and one measurement points the other way. Artificial Analysis reported that running its then-current Intelligence Index on Opus 4.7 used 102 million output tokens against Opus 4.6’s 157 million, at a total cost of roughly $4,406 against roughly $4,970. On that suite, at max effort, under the April index and its cost methodology, the newer model finished cheaper despite the tokenizer.
That result is a data point about one benchmark, not a forecast for a production workload. What it establishes is the shape of the question. Task cost is a function of input tokens, cache behavior, thinking and answer tokens, tool overhead, regional modifiers, retries, and failure rate. FSR has measured none of those on production traffic, and neither Anthropic nor Artificial Analysis publishes cost per completed task for an application resembling yours.
Sources: Anthropic, Pricing, read 6 August 2026 · Anthropic, 16 April 2026 · Artificial Analysis, 17 April 2026
Reading a benchmark score correctly
Measurement conditions
Artificial Analysis published Opus 4.7 at 57 in April 2026 and lists it at 54 today. The gap is a change of instrument, not a change of model. Intelligence Index v4.1, published on 15 June 2026, updated three evaluations, removed one, and reweighted the index. A revision of the ruler does not establish anything about the thing measured.
The practical consequence is narrow and worth carrying to every model comparison you read: a score without its index version, effort level, and capture date is incomplete. The current model page names its methodology version but does not display prior scores alongside it, so a reader arriving from an April article has no way to see that the two numbers were produced by different systems.
Sources: Artificial Analysis, 17 April 2026 · Artificial Analysis, 15 June 2026 · Artificial Analysis, Claude Opus 4.7, read 6 August 2026
Questions answered
Is Claude Opus 4.7 deprecated?
No. As of 6 August 2026 Anthropic lists it as Active with no deprecation date. One third-party measurement site marks the model deprecated on its own page. That is the measurer’s editorial status, not Anthropic’s lifecycle classification, and the two use different criteria.
When can Anthropic retire Opus 4.7?
No earlier than 16 April 2027, described as tentative. Anthropic states at least 60 days of notice before retiring a publicly released model. The date applies to Anthropic-operated platforms. Amazon Bedrock runs a separate three-state lifecycle and commits that a model stays available at least 12 months from its Bedrock launch before end of life. Check the platform you actually call.
Why do my fast mode requests now fail?
Fast mode was removed for Opus 4.7 on 24 July 2026, after a research preview that began on 12 May. Anthropic’s release note states these requests return an error and, unlike Opus 4.6, do not fall back to standard speed. Opus 4.7 still runs at standard speed.
Should I migrate to Opus 4.8 or Opus 5?
Both list at the same base rate as 4.7. Opus 4.8 keeps the same context window, output limit, tool set, and fast mode as a preview. Opus 5 changes the thinking default, rejects thinking-disabled requests at xhigh or max effort, and does not offer Priority Tier or web fetch. Choose by dependency.
Is Opus 4.7 still $5 and $25 per million tokens?
Yes, as of 6 August 2026, and the same rate applies to Opus 4.8 and Opus 5. Actual spend also depends on cache writes and hits, Batch discounts, the 1.1 multiplier for US-only inference, tool system-prompt overhead, image tokens, and effort level.
Does Opus 4.7 have a 200k or a 1M context window?
1M, with 128k maximum output on the synchronous API and up to 300k on the Message Batches API with a beta header. Anthropic’s migration guide, models overview and release notes all state 1M. A 200k figure circulates in secondary coverage and does not describe this model’s context window.
Did its benchmark score fall from 57 to 54?
The published figure changed because Artificial Analysis published Intelligence Index v4.1 on 15 June 2026, updating three evaluations, removing one, and reweighting. Both numbers are real and neither is comparable to the other. A change in the index does not evidence a change in the model.
Sources: Anthropic, Model deprecations · Anthropic, Release notes · Anthropic, Migration guide · AWS, Amazon Bedrock model lifecycle · Artificial Analysis, 15 June 2026
Methodology
This is a Tier C briefing. FSR did not run Claude Opus 4.7 and did not measure its availability, reliability, latency, output quality, or production cost. Every operational statement traces to vendor documentation, a dated release note, or a named third-party measurement, read on 4 and 6 August 2026.
Facts are separated by the date they became true and by who made them true. Changes Anthropic shipped at launch are not presented as changes that happened to an Active model afterwards. Changes made by a measurement organization are not presented as changes to the product.
The Opus 4.7 system card was opened and read directly for this briefing, as were Anthropic’s migration guide and the Amazon Bedrock model lifecycle page. Two limits remain. The minimum cacheable prompt length for Opus 4.7 is not published; documentation establishes only that it sits above the 1,024-token minimum on Opus 4.8. And Anthropic’s pricing and lifecycle pages carry no visible last-updated date, so both should be reopened before a production decision.
Sources: Anthropic, 16 April 2026 · Anthropic, Release notes · Anthropic, Model deprecations · Anthropic, Pricing · Anthropic, Migration guide · Anthropic, Models overview · Anthropic, Choosing a model · Anthropic, What’s new in Claude Opus 4.8 · Anthropic, Claude Opus 4.7 System Card, 16 April 2026 · Artificial Analysis, model page · Artificial Analysis, 17 April 2026 · Artificial Analysis, 15 June 2026 · AWS, 16 April 2026 · AWS, Amazon Bedrock model lifecycle
Verdict
Anthropic still lists Opus 4.7 as Active, with a tentative retirement no earlier than 16 April 2027 and at least 60 days of notice before that happens. On the documents, a standard-speed first-party deployment faces no deadline this quarter.
What the documents also show is that four things sit under a single lifecycle label and are governed separately. The model snapshot is pinned. The preview features attached to it are not. The request configurations the API accepts changed at launch and can change again. The retirement date depends on which platform you call. And the benchmark score people quote depends on which version of an external index produced it.
The useful discipline is to stop asking one question and start asking four. Is the model still served, is my request still accepted, does my platform use the same schedule, and does my cost per completed task still hold. The first three have published answers. The fourth has to be measured on your own traffic, and nothing in this briefing substitutes for that.
Contact us
FSR runs document-first model dependency audits for teams standardizing on a specific model version: request-field compatibility, feature entitlement across successor models, platform lifecycle exposure, and the cost surfaces a rate card omits. If you are deciding whether to hold or migrate a production deployment, we can help you scope the questions that documents can settle before you spend engineering time on the ones they cannot.
Related FSR briefings
Tier B briefings are hands-on tested. Tier C briefings are document-first.
-
TIER B
Claude Opus 5 vs Opus 4.8: Six Runs, No Detected Difference, and a Migration That Still Needs WorkThe successor comparison this decision runs through, and the migration work that remains after the model ID changes.
-
TIER B
MiniMax M2.7 Review (2026): A 10/10 Tie With Opus 4.8, a $0.56 Benchmark, and the License Trap Nobody ReadsWhat a benchmark tie is worth once you read the measurement conditions and the license underneath it.
-
TIER C
Claude Opus 4.8 Review: A Safer Model, a Worse OperatorThe closer migration target, and the trade its title names before you commit to it.
-
TIER C
Claude Sonnet 5 Explained: Cheaper Per Token, Not Per TaskThe same gap this briefing describes, applied to a different model: a lower rate card is not a lower bill.
-
TIER C
DeepSeek Retires deepseek-chat and deepseek-reasoner on July 24: What Its Anthropic API Keeps, Maps, and DropsWhat a retirement does to live requests: what is kept, what is remapped, and what stops answering.
-
TIER C
Claude Fable 5 Was Live for About 72 Hours. The Real Risk Was Never the Model.The upper bound on availability risk, where access ended for a reason no lifecycle page covers.
Future Stack Reviews publishes structural audits of AI and SaaS products for technical buyers. This is a Tier C briefing: document-first, with no hands-on testing by FSR. Vendor pricing, lifecycle status, platform availability, and third-party benchmark scores change without notice, and several pages cited here display no last-updated date. Verify against the primary source before any production or purchase decision. Last checked: 6 August 2026.