Hostinger vs Namecheap: Which Product Page Publishes the Limits You Are Buying

Last updated: August 25, 2026

Tier C

Document audit. No performance testing and no account-side testing. Every figure was read from a published page on 25 August 2026 and is identified by page, section, and date. Both vendors were read from the same three surfaces: the product page, the specification table, and the contract documents.

Disclosure. FSR does not place affiliate links in Tier C briefings. This page carries none. FSR pays for its own Hostinger hosting at standard rates and holds no affiliate account with either company. See the Methodology.

A sizing figure is a number that tells you whether a plan will hold your workload: disk, file count, sites, mailboxes, databases, connections. FSR listed twelve of them and checked which ones each company prints on the page where the purchase decision gets made. Namecheap prints eleven. Hostinger prints five, and two of those five disagree with Hostinger’s own support database.

Verdict in one sentence: Namecheap publishes its shared hosting sizing figures on the product page, and the inode ceilings there are identical to the ones in the policy its terms incorporate, while Hostinger prints “Unlimited” on the plan card for four figures that its support database gives as 50, 100, 5 and 10.

Seven findings that change a purchase decision

Sizing figures on the product pageNamecheap 11 of 12. Hostinger 5 of 12
The word “Unlimited”Every Hostinger cell that agrees across all three surfaces is a finite figure. Every cell that fails is one where the plan card prints “Unlimited”
Which version you boughtHostinger plan limits exist in three versions by purchase date. A Premium plan is 100, 25 or 3 websites. The plan card does not say which
Card against spec tableNamecheap 9 of 9 agree. Hostinger 5 of 9 agree across three surfaces, and the four failures break in three different ways
Page against contractNamecheap’s product page inode figures are identical to its acceptable use policy. Hostinger’s Hosting Agreement still carries the database figures superseded in December 2025
UptimeNamecheap prints 100% four times on the product page. The remedy is service time capped at one month, claimable within 10 calendar days. Hostinger prints no uptime figure on the plan cards; the Hosting Agreement gives 99.9% with a 5% store credit and excludes email-only outages
Money-back at renewalHostinger 30 days from the renewal charge. Namecheap’s two live documents say 48 hours at discretion and never
Backup eligibilityBoth stop backing an account up before it reaches its published allowance

Read 25 August 2026. Namecheap’s page was recorded with the US data center selected. Hostinger states that plan titles and availability vary by brand and account, and that its plan limits differ by purchase date. Verify against both vendors before purchasing.

The count: eleven against five

Twelve figures decide whether a shared hosting plan will hold a given workload. Here is which of them each company prints where a buyer chooses a plan.

Sizing figureNamecheap, on namecheap.com/hosting/shared/Hostinger, on the plan cards at hostinger.com/web-hosting
Disk space20 GB SSD / Unmetered SSD / 50 GB SSD20 GB SSD / 50 GB NVMe / 100 GB NVMe
File limit (inodes)300,000 / 300,000 / 600,000Not on the plan cards
Websites or hosted domains3 / Unlimited / Unlimited3 / Unlimited / Unlimited
Subdomains30 / Unlimited / UnlimitedNot on the plan cards
Mailboxes or email accounts30 / Unlimited / Unlimited2 per website / Unlimited per website / Unlimited per website
DatabasesMySQL 50 / Unlimited / Unlimited, plus a PostgreSQL rowNot on the plan cards
FTP users50 / Unlimited / UnlimitedNot on the plan cards
Cron jobsRow present, checkmark only, no valueNot on the plan cards
BandwidthUnmeteredNot on the plan cards
Uptime figure100% on every planNot on the plan cards
Backup frequencyTwice a Week, plus AutoBackup on two plansFree weekly / Daily / Daily and on demand
Money-back window30 days on every plan30-day money-back guarantee

Namecheap tiers are Stellar, Stellar Plus, Stellar Business. Hostinger tiers are Premium, Unlimited, Cloud Startup. Namecheap’s figures come from the plan cards and the Tech Specs table, both at namecheap.com/hosting/shared/, recorded with the US data center selected. Hostinger’s figures come from the plan cards at hostinger.com/web-hosting. “Not on the plan cards” means the figure was not present in the plan feature lists recorded on 25 August 2026; it does not mean Hostinger publishes it nowhere. Every one of those figures appears in Hostinger’s support database at a separate URL. Numeral note: Namecheap prints its file limits with a period as the thousands separator, as “300.000” and “600.000.” This briefing renders them as 300,000 and 600,000 to match the surrounding text. The values are unchanged.

Namecheap carries a value on eleven of the twelve lines. The exception is cron jobs, where its specification table shows a checkmark and puts the actual constraint in its acceptable use policy.

Hostinger carries a value on five. Seven of the twelve, including the inode ceiling that governs any site with a large file count, are not on the page where the plan is chosen. They are in a support article at a different address, and that article states that hosting parameters are subject to change without notice and that plan titles and availability may vary depending on the Hostinger brand associated with an account.

This is not a claim that one company’s limits are more generous. On the entry tier the two are close enough to place side by side for the first time in this project:

DiskHostinger Premium 20 GB SSD. Namecheap Stellar 20 GB SSD
SitesHostinger Premium 3 websites. Namecheap Stellar 3 hosted domains
InodesHostinger Premium 400,000, published in the support database. Namecheap Stellar 300,000, published on the product page and in the acceptable use policy
MailboxesHostinger Premium 2 per website, on a plan that allows 3 websites. Namecheap Stellar 30 email accounts for the account. The two are printed on different bases, so a like-for-like reading requires multiplying Hostinger’s figure by its site allowance, giving 6 against 30

Hostinger’s entry tier carries a third more inodes. Namecheap’s carries five times the mailboxes. Both figures are checkable. Only one of the four lines is on both companies’ plan cards.

Sources: Namecheap, Shared Hosting product page and Tech Specs, read 25 August 2026 · Hostinger, web hosting page, read 25 August 2026 · Hostinger Knowledge Base, parameters and limits of hosting plans, read 25 August 2026 · Namecheap, Web Hosting Acceptable Use Policy, no revision date shown, read 25 August 2026

The “Unlimited” test, run on both

Nine cells appear on more than one surface for each company: three plans by three fields. The test asks whether the printings agree with each other.

Namecheap: nine of nine agree

PlanFieldPlan cardTech Specs tableResult
StellarWebsites33Agree
StellarStorage20 GB SSD20 GB SSDAgree
StellarMailboxes30 mailboxes30 email accountsAgree
Stellar PlusWebsitesUnlimitedUnlimitedAgree
Stellar PlusStorageUnmetered SSDUnmetered SSDAgree
Stellar PlusMailboxesUnlimitedUnlimitedAgree
Stellar BusinessWebsitesUnlimitedUnlimitedAgree
Stellar BusinessStorage50 GB Cloud Storage50 GB SSDAgree on the number
Stellar BusinessMailboxesUnlimitedUnlimitedAgree

The Stellar Business storage row is the only cell where the wording differs. The plan card calls the 50 GB “Cloud Storage” and the specification table calls it “50 GB SSD.” The specification table also carries a separate Cloud Storage row stating that Cloud Storage is included with EU, US and SG data centers for Stellar Business, and with EU and SG data centers only for Stellar and Stellar Plus.

Hostinger: five of nine agree

PlanFieldPlan cardParameters articlePlan versions articleResult
PremiumWebsites333Agree
PremiumStorage20 GB SSD20 GB20 GBAgree
PremiumMailboxes2 per website2 per website2 mailboxesAgree
UnlimitedStorage50 GB NVMe50 GB50 GBAgree
Cloud StartupStorage100 GB NVMe100 GB100 GBAgree
UnlimitedWebsitesUnlimited5050Card disagrees with both support pages
UnlimitedMailboxesUnlimited per website5 per websiteUnlimitedThe two support pages disagree
Cloud StartupWebsitesUnlimited100100 in the table, unlimited in the note below itOne page disagrees with itself
Cloud StartupMailboxesUnlimited per website10 per website10 in the table, unlimited in the note below itOne page disagrees with itself

Plan card from hostinger.com/web-hosting on the 48 month term. Parameters article from the Hostinger Knowledge Base page on parameters and limits of hosting plans. Plan versions article from the Hostinger Knowledge Base page on new web and cloud hosting limits, using its version 3 tables, which it applies to plans purchased from 17 December 2025 onward. All three read 25 August 2026. The plan versions article gives Premium as two mailboxes without stating a basis; the parameters article gives two per website. The numbers match and the basis wording does not. Storage wording differs by medium label, SSD and NVMe on the card against a bare gigabyte figure in both articles, and the numbers match on all three plans.

Hostinger publishes these figures on three surfaces, not two. The plan card, the parameters and limits article, and a second support article that sets out how the plan limits changed over time. Five of the nine cells agree on all three. The other four fail in three different ways.

The Unlimited plan’s website count fails first. The plan card says unlimited. Both support pages give 50. The second support article lists exactly three things that differ on an Unlimited plan, and states that all other limits stay as shown in its V3 table. Website count is not among the three.

The Unlimited plan’s mailbox count fails differently. The parameters article gives five per website. The second support article states that an Unlimited plan carries unlimited mailboxes during its first year of free email, in place of a fixed limit. The plan card agrees with the second article and not the first.

The two Cloud Startup cells fail inside one document. The second support article’s V3 cloud table gives 100 websites and 10 mailboxes for plans bought from 17 December 2025 onward. A note below that table states that Cloud Hosting plans have included unlimited websites and mailboxes since 17 June 2026. Both statements cover a purchase made today, and the article defines no fourth version to separate them.

Premium is the only Hostinger plan whose card contains no “Unlimited,” and Premium is the only Hostinger plan that agrees on every field.

The two tests were run the same way, on the same day, on the same three fields, for three plans each. The difference is not that one company enforces limits and the other does not. Both do. The difference is that Namecheap prints the same answer in both places.

Sources: Namecheap, Shared Hosting plan cards and Tech Specs, read 25 August 2026 · Hostinger, web hosting page, read 25 August 2026 · Hostinger Knowledge Base, parameters and limits of hosting plans, read 25 August 2026 · Hostinger Knowledge Base, new web and cloud hosting limits, read 25 August 2026

What bounds “Unlimited”, and which version you bought

Nine cells agreeing does not mean Namecheap’s “Unlimited” is unlimited. It means the constraint is printed somewhere a buyer can find it.

“Unlimited websites” on Stellar PlusBounded by a file limit of 300,000 inodes, the same figure as the entry plan. The specification table on the product page and the acceptable use policy give identical numbers
“Unmetered SSD storage” on Stellar PlusThe same 300,000 inode limit applies. Storage is unmetered by volume and metered by file count
“Unlimited MySQL databases”The acceptable use policy states that a maximum of 10 GB of a shared hosting account may be allocated to databases and database dumps
Cron jobs, shown as a checkmarkThe acceptable use policy prohibits more than five simultaneous cron jobs and intervals shorter than five minutes
Cloud Storage and Eco-friendly rowsBoth are conditioned on data center. With the US data center selected on the page, the table states Cloud Storage as included with EU and SG data centers for Stellar and Stellar Plus, and the Eco-friendly row names EU, SG and UK data centers on all three plans

The inode figure is the one to carry into a decision, because it is counted separately from disk. Namecheap gives the same 300,000 to Stellar and to Stellar Plus, so moving from the entry plan to the unmetered-storage plan raises the storage label and leaves the file ceiling where it was. Only Stellar Business doubles it, to 600,000. FSR did not measure how many inodes any real installation consumes, so check the current count in your own control panel rather than estimating it.

Hostinger’s equivalent figures rise with the plan: 200,000, 400,000 and 600,000 across Single, Premium and Unlimited. They are not on the plan cards.

Neither company’s “Unlimited” survives contact with its own documents. One of them tells you that on the page where you buy.

Hostinger: the plan name does not identify the plan

Hostinger’s second support article states that its hosting plan limits exist in three versions, assigned by purchase date. Version 1 covers plans bought until 23 April 2025. Version 2 covers 24 April 2025 to 16 December 2025. Version 3 covers 17 December 2025 onward. The same plan name carries different entitlements in each.

Premium planVersion 1
bought until 23 Apr 2025
Version 2
24 Apr to 16 Dec 2025
Version 3
from 17 Dec 2025
Websites100253
Mailboxes10022
Database count30030010
Disk space100 GB25 GB20 GB
Memory2 GB2 GB2 GB
Processor1 core1 core1 core

Version 3 is the current version for a new purchase. Memory and processor are unchanged across all three versions. Websites, mailboxes, databases and disk are not.

The plan card does not display which version a purchase falls under. A Premium account opened in early 2025 holds 100 websites, 100 mailboxes and 300 databases. A Premium account opened today holds three websites, two mailboxes and ten databases. The page is the same page and the plan name is the same name.

Three further terms attach to the Unlimited plan and appear on that article rather than on the plan card. An Unlimited plan cannot be downgraded to another hosting tier. Unlimited applies to hosting your own websites, not to file storage or archiving. The unlimited mailbox entitlement runs during the first year of free email, after which the article directs the customer to a paid Business Email plan.

Neither company’s “Unlimited” survives contact with its own documents. Namecheap prints the bounding figure one table below the claim. Hostinger prints its bounding figures on two support pages, and which set applies depends on a purchase date the plan card does not show.

Sources: Namecheap, Shared Hosting Tech Specs, read 25 August 2026 · Namecheap, Web Hosting Acceptable Use Policy sections 6 and 10, no revision date shown, read 25 August 2026 · Namecheap, Web Hosting Terms of Service section 4, no revision date shown, read 25 August 2026 · Hostinger Knowledge Base, new web and cloud hosting limits, read 25 August 2026 · Hostinger Knowledge Base, parameters and limits of hosting plans, read 25 August 2026

What only looks like a conflict

An earlier draft of this briefing counted eleven disagreements between vendor documents. Five did not survive a scope check. They are printed here rather than quietly dropped, because the test that killed them is the test a reader should apply to any comparison of this kind. One pair moved the other way. A pair FSR had classified as a ceiling against an entitlement turned out, once a third support article was read, to be a contract carrying superseded figures. They are printed here rather than quietly dropped, because the test that killed them is the test a reader should apply to any comparison of this kind.

A pair of different numbers qualifies as a conflict only if both figures describe the same product family, the same plan, the same metric, the same lifecycle stage, and the same time horizon, and only if both documents apply at once.

PairWhy it failedClassification
Hostinger support page: “parameters are fixed” and “subject to change without notice”The sentence immediately after “fixed” defines it: individual resources cannot be upgraded separately, so a plan change is required. The change notice describes future revision. An earlier FSR draft quoted the first sentence without the secondSelective quotation by FSR
Namecheap children’s age: 18 in the privacy policy, 13 in the hosting privacy policyOne covers collecting, using, or sharing identifying information without consent. The other covers requesting personally identifiable information, referencing a specific statute. Different acts, different scopesScope difference
Namecheap payment card environmentThe universal terms say some Namecheap services are compliant but require further work on the customer side. The hosting terms say the hosting services are not intended to provide such an environment. Company-wide and product-specific statements that can both holdScope difference
Namecheap VPS: three days in the terms, seven days in the acceptable use policyThe terms describe a grace period after payment becomes due. The policy describes a period in which an overdue service may be reactivated. These may be successive stages of one billing lifecycle. No published page sequences themUnresolved timing
Namecheap term prices: the Stellar card showed $2.28 per month on the yearly toggle while the Pricing block showed $55.88 for one yearTwelve months at the card rate is $27.36, which does not reconcile with $55.88. The Pricing block was recorded with the Monthly toggle active, and FSR did not record the same block under the Yearly toggle. Neither block is labeled as a first term or a renewalScope check incomplete

Five findings survived.

Direct mismatch. Direct mismatch. Hostinger’s plan cards and its support pages give different website and mailbox figures for the Unlimited and Cloud Startup plans. Section 02 sets out the three ways they fail.

Direct document tension. Namecheap’s Web Hosting Terms of Service list renewals among the items refunds do not apply to. Its Refund Policy states that renewals of web hosting may be refundable, at Namecheap’s sole discretion, if the account holder cancels within forty-eight hours after the renewal. Both pages are live and both address web hosting renewals. FSR preserves both statements and does not predict which one applies to a given case.

Disclosure asymmetry. Seven of twelve sizing figures are absent from Hostinger’s plan cards, as set out in section 01.

Same-page tension. Namecheap’s specification table prints a flat 30-day money-back guarantee on the same page that offers a 30-day free trial, while its Terms of Service state that a prior trial package means no refund is given. Section 06 covers this.

Version lag in the contract. The Hosting Agreement, revised 2 June 2026, states that shared hosting accounts are allotted up to 300 databases with the Single plan at two, and that cloud hosting accounts are allotted 800. Those are the version 1 and version 2 figures. Version 3 has applied to purchases since 17 December 2025 and gives 150 databases for the Unlimited plan and 300 for Cloud Startup. The contract was revised roughly six months after version 3 took effect and still carries the earlier numbers.

Two Hostinger pairs sit between the surviving and the failed. Its Hosting Agreement caps cron jobs at 400 and FTP accounts at 300 for shared hosting accounts, while its support database lists both as unlimited for cPanel Silver and Gold packages. Hostinger’s mainstream managed plans run on hPanel, and this audit did not establish that a buyer of the current Unlimited plan receives either cPanel package. Until that is established, these are product-family questions rather than plan-level findings.

Sources: Hostinger, Hosting Agreement section 5, 2 June 2026 · Hostinger Knowledge Base, parameters and limits of hosting plans, read 25 August 2026 · Namecheap, Web Hosting Terms of Service sections 5, 10 and 11, read 25 August 2026 · Namecheap, Web Hosting Acceptable Use Policy section 6, read 25 August 2026 · Namecheap, Universal Terms of Service section 12, May 2026 · Namecheap, Refund Policy, no revision date shown, read 25 August 2026 · Namecheap, Privacy Policy, read 25 August 2026 · Namecheap, Web Hosting Privacy Policy, read 25 August 2026 · Namecheap, Shared Hosting Tech Specs pricing block, read 25 August 2026

The uptime figure and what it pays

Namecheap prints 100% four times on its shared hosting page: once in the Included in all plans strip and once in each column of the Tech Specs uptime row. None of those four printings carries a remedy, a claim window, or an exclusion. Hostinger prints no uptime figure on its plan cards at all.

FigureHostinger: 99.9% of available time per month, stated in the Hosting Agreement
Namecheap: 100% monthly for Value, Professional, Ultimate, Business, Stellar, Stellar Plus, Stellar Business and Dedicated server accounts, excepting Intel Xeon E3-1220 v3 Series dedicated servers at 99.9%. Reseller and VPS accounts are 99.9%
RemedyHostinger: a credit of 5% of that month’s hosting fee, usable only to purchase further Hostinger products and services, exclusive of tax
Namecheap: one day of service cycle prolongation per hour of downtime, with a stated maximum of one month of free hosting
Filing routeHostinger: contact Hostinger and request the credit
Namecheap: submit a ticket to the Billing department. Downtime must be confirmed by a member of the Support team
DeadlineHostinger: a maximum of 30 days after the interruption
Namecheap: within the first 10 calendar days after the downtime
Who decidesBoth documents reserve the determination to the provider. Namecheap adds that all remedies are at its discretion and that its remedy is the sole and exclusive one
Email-only outagesHostinger: excluded. The clause names outages that do not affect the appearance of a website but merely affect access to it, such as FTP and email
Namecheap: no equivalent item was located among the eleven exclusions listed in its Uptime Guarantee

Both documents list eleven exclusions. Namecheap’s cover attacks, third-party software, resource container limits, customer error, customer scripting, network conditions outside its network, firewall blocks, browser and DNS caching, programming environment reliability, unforeseeable circumstances, and force majeure. None of those is an email or FTP carve-out, which matters because both companies sell mailboxes on the same plan card as the hosting.

Record the remedy type and the filing deadline before comparing the percentages. Hostinger’s remedy is store credit and cannot be taken as cash. Namecheap’s is additional service time rather than money, and it stops accruing at the stated one-month cap.

Sources: Namecheap, Shared Hosting product page and Tech Specs, read 25 August 2026 · Namecheap, Uptime Guarantee, no revision date shown, read 25 August 2026 · Hostinger, Hosting Agreement section 7, 2 June 2026 · Hostinger, web hosting page, read 25 August 2026

The guarantee and the trial on one page

Namecheap’s shared hosting page carried three things at once on 25 August 2026: a banner reading that shared hosting is free for thirty days for a limited time, a free trial toggle on each plan card showing $0.00 for 30 days with the note “1 per account,” and a Tech Specs row reading “Money-back guarantee: 30 days” for all three plans with no qualifier attached.

The contract documents attach three qualifiers to that row.

First-time accounts onlyThe Refund Policy states that only first-time accounts on the named shared, Stellar, reseller and VPS plans are eligible for the 30-day money-back guarantee, and that any refund is at Namecheap’s sole discretion
Prior trialThe Web Hosting Terms of Service state that where the account holder had a trial package, no refund is given
RenewalsThe Web Hosting Terms of Service list renewals among the items refunds do not apply to. The Refund Policy allows 48 hours after a renewal at sole discretion
One per serviceThe Refund Policy states that in no event is the same service eligible for more than one refund

FSR did not open a Namecheap account and cannot state what happens in practice to a buyer who takes the advertised trial and then asks for the advertised guarantee. What the documents show is that the page offers both and the terms exclude an account holder who had a trial package. That question belongs on a pre-purchase support ticket, not in an assumption.

Hostinger’s position at the same moment in a subscription is the clearer one. Its Refund Policy allows thirty days from the date of the transaction and defines that date to include the date a renewal is processed, subject to the products it lists as eligible and the exceptions it names, which include the first payment after a free trial and all VPS plans.

Repeat refundsHostinger: permitted with cooling-off periods, including more than 180 days since the last VPS refund and more than 24 hours since the last domain refund
Namecheap: the same service is never eligible for more than one refund
Where the money landsHostinger: refunds go to the original funding source. The customer may instead select Hostinger Balance, which is irrevocable once initiated. Three named payment methods can only be refunded to Balance. Balance credits expire after two years and are forfeited if the account is terminated
Namecheap: refunds are credited to the Namecheap account balance unless the customer requests otherwise. Purchases made with account funds can only be refunded as account credit
Free domain clawbackNamecheap: where a cancelled service included a free domain registration, the standard domain price is deducted from the refund. If the refund is smaller than that price, the customer pays the difference or forfeits the domain, in which case ownership reverts to Namecheap

Sources: Namecheap, Shared Hosting product page and Tech Specs, read 25 August 2026 · Namecheap, Refund Policy, no revision date shown, read 25 August 2026 · Namecheap, Web Hosting Terms of Service section 11, read 25 August 2026 · Hostinger, Refund Policy, 30 June 2026 · Hostinger, Terms of Service section 16, 15 July 2026

Where backup eligibility ends

Both companies print a backup frequency on the plan card and put the threshold at which backups stop somewhere else.

What the page saysNamecheap: “Twice a Week” on Stellar, “Twice a Week + Autobackup” on Stellar Plus and Stellar Business
Hostinger: “Free weekly backups” on Premium, “Daily backups and easy data restore” on Unlimited, “Daily and on demand backups” on Cloud Startup
Where it stops, NamecheapA shared hosting account above 25 GB of disk, or above 200,000 inodes, is removed from the weekly system backup. The published file limit for Stellar and Stellar Plus is 300,000
AutoBackup, NamecheapA separate tool. Stellar Business is stated as unlimited backup storage. Stellar Plus stops creating copies at a 25 GB backup storage limit until files are removed
Where it stops, HostingerA cPanel shared hosting account using more than 30 GB of disk space is removed from the off-site weekly backup. The support database lists cPanel Gold at 50 GB of disk and cPanel Silver at 30 GB
Retention, HostingerWeekly, overwriting the previous copy, with two weeks held on a remote server. The agreement describes the service as a courtesy that may be modified at any time
Third-party plugin archivesHostinger states that backups created inside an account by third-party backup software or plugins may be identified and excluded from its own backup creation, retention, and restoration

Namecheap can exclude an account from the weekly system backup while that account remains inside its published file limit. The exclusion threshold of 200,000 sits at two thirds of the 300,000 published for Stellar and Stellar Plus. On Stellar Plus that gap sits under a plan sold as unmetered storage, so neither the disk figure nor the storage label warns a buyer about it.

The Hostinger clause carries a scope question inside itself. Its first sentence limits the exclusion to cPanel shared hosting accounts. Its next sentence is general and instructs the user to keep disk consumption below 30 GB. Hostinger’s mainstream managed plans run on hPanel. The document does not state whether the second sentence extends the rule beyond cPanel, and this audit treats the clause as cPanel-scoped until that is resolved.

Sources: Namecheap, Shared Hosting Tech Specs, read 25 August 2026 · Namecheap, Web Hosting Acceptable Use Policy sections 6 and 10, read 25 August 2026 · Hostinger, Hosting Agreement section 4, 2 June 2026 · Hostinger Knowledge Base, cPanel shared package limits, read 25 August 2026 · Hostinger, web hosting page, read 25 August 2026

Appendix: who signs, for a buyer in Japan

This appendix covers the counterparty question only. A fuller audit of contracting entities, data processing addenda, and government request handling is held for a separate briefing.

Hostinger’s Terms of Service determine the contracting entity by the customer’s country of residence. Japan appears in the Group No. 1 country list, which the terms assign to HOSTINGER PTE LTD, a Singapore private limited company. The agreement is governed by the laws of Luxembourg unless that contradicts mandatory provisions of local law, and proceedings are brought in the courts of Luxembourg on the same condition. The terms also state that payment may be charged by any of six named group companies or by another group entity not listed.

Namecheap’s terms name a single contracting party, Namecheap, Inc. of Phoenix, Arizona. The definition of “we” in those terms includes its subsidiaries and sister companies, so the counterparty is a named company rather than a single legal entity in every respect. Rights and obligations are governed by the laws of the United States and the State of Arizona, actions must be brought exclusively in the United States District Court of Arizona or a state court in Maricopa County, and the Universal Terms of Service include a waiver of the right to a jury trial.

Two document-side differences are worth a procurement reviewer’s attention. Hostinger’s data processing addendum was revised on 18 August 2026, names seven sub-processors, and states that customer data is deleted thirty days after the termination date. Namecheap’s was last revised on 27 September 2021, names no sub-processors, and states that deletion is governed by the terms of the particular covered service without giving a period. On the other side, Hostinger’s addendum names its Cyprus, United Kingdom and Luxembourg entities as parties and does not name the Singapore entity assigned to the country group that contains Japan.

Sources: Hostinger, Terms of Service sections 2, 16 and 22, 15 July 2026 · Hostinger, list of countries, read 25 August 2026 · Hostinger, Data Processing Addendum, 18 August 2026 · Namecheap, Universal Terms of Service section 28, May 2026 · Namecheap, Web Hosting Terms of Service section 20, read 25 August 2026 · Namecheap, Data Processing Addendum, 27 September 2021

Questions to settle before checkout

Each of these is answerable by a vendor and unanswerable from the documents alone.

To HostingerFor the exact checkout offer shown to me in my country, how many websites and mailboxes will this plan enforce, and does the support database figure or the plan card figure govern?
To HostingerWhat is the inode limit on the plan I am buying, and does the 30 GB off-site backup exclusion apply to an hPanel plan or only to cPanel packages?
To HostingerWhat does the 400 cronjob figure in the Hosting Agreement measure: defined jobs, concurrent executions, or something else?
To NamecheapIf I take the 30 day free trial and then want the 30 day money-back guarantee, does the trial package clause in the Web Hosting Terms of Service exclude me?
To NamecheapWhich document governs a hosting renewal refund request, the Web Hosting Terms of Service or the Refund Policy?
To NamecheapWith the US data center selected, is Cloud Storage included on Stellar and Stellar Plus, and what is the one-year price for the plan I am seeing at the promotional monthly rate?
To eitherWhat is my current inode count, and at what point does my account leave the provider backup schedule?

Where two applicable documents remain unresolved, treat the stricter published figure as a temporary planning assumption and keep the vendor’s written answer alongside the purchase record.

Sources: each question above is drawn from a gap identified in sections 01 to 08 of this briefing. The underlying pages are cited in those sections and listed in full in the Methodology.

FAQ

How many websites does Hostinger’s Unlimited plan actually allow?

Two published answers on 25 August 2026. The web hosting plan card says unlimited websites. The support database says 50 for the same plan. Cloud Startup shows the same split, with unlimited on the card and 100 on the support page. Hostinger’s support page adds that plan titles and availability vary by brand and account, so the enforceable figure should be confirmed for the exact checkout offer.

Does Namecheap’s “unlimited websites” have a real limit?

Yes, and Namecheap prints it on the same page. Stellar Plus and Stellar Business are sold with unlimited websites, and the Tech Specs table on that page gives a file limit of 300,000 inodes for Stellar Plus and 600,000 for Stellar Business. The same figures appear in the acceptable use policy that the Web Hosting Terms of Service incorporate by reference.

Can I use Namecheap’s free trial and still get the money-back guarantee?

The documents do not settle it. The product page runs a 30 day free trial and a 30 day money-back guarantee at the same time. The Refund Policy limits the guarantee to first-time accounts at Namecheap’s sole discretion, and the Web Hosting Terms of Service state that where the account holder had a trial package, no refund is given. Ask support in writing before taking the trial.

Can a hosting renewal be refunded?

At Hostinger, the Refund Policy allows 30 days from the date of the transaction and defines that date to include the date a renewal is processed, subject to its list of eligible products and exclusions. At Namecheap the two documents disagree: the Refund Policy allows 48 hours at sole discretion and the Web Hosting Terms of Service list renewals among the items refunds do not apply to.

Does Hostinger’s uptime guarantee cover email outages?

No. Section 7 of the Hosting Agreement excludes outages that do not affect the appearance of a website but merely affect access to it, naming FTP and email. That matters because the same plan cards sell mailboxes. No equivalent item was located among the eleven exclusions listed in Namecheap’s Uptime Guarantee.

When does provider backup stop?

Before the account reaches its published allowance, at both providers. Namecheap removes a shared account from the weekly system backup above 25 GB of disk or above 200,000 inodes, against a published file limit of 300,000 for Stellar and Stellar Plus. Hostinger removes a cPanel shared hosting account above 30 GB, and its support database lists cPanel Gold at 50 GB.

Sources: Namecheap, Shared Hosting product page and Tech Specs, read 25 August 2026 · Namecheap, Web Hosting Acceptable Use Policy, read 25 August 2026 · Namecheap, Web Hosting Terms of Service, read 25 August 2026 · Namecheap, Refund Policy, read 25 August 2026 · Namecheap, Uptime Guarantee, read 25 August 2026 · Hostinger, web hosting page, read 25 August 2026 · Hostinger Knowledge Base, parameters and limits of hosting plans, read 25 August 2026 · Hostinger, Hosting Agreement, 2 June 2026 · Hostinger, Refund Policy, 30 June 2026

Methodology and limitations

Tier and scope. Tier C. No hands-on testing was performed for this briefing. FSR did not purchase a Namecheap account and did not execute a cancellation, refund, migration, restore, or uptime claim at either provider. Thirty-one published pages were opened in a browser and read on 25 August 2026; sixteen are cited here and the remainder support findings held for separate briefings. Screen captures were retained with their capture time.

Symmetry. Both companies were read from the same three surfaces: the product page a buyer lands on, the specification table that page carries or that the vendor publishes elsewhere, and the contract documents. An earlier draft of this briefing built the Hostinger column from three surfaces and the Namecheap column from one, which produced artificial blanks. That draft is superseded by this one and the correction is recorded below.

How each pair was classified. Every candidate conflict was tested against six conditions: same product family, same plan, same region and brand cohort, same metric, same lifecycle stage, and both documents applicable at once. A pair that failed any condition was reclassified rather than counted. Section 04 prints the seven pairs that failed, including one that failed because an earlier FSR draft quoted a sentence without the sentence that defined it.

Page state. Namecheap’s product page was recorded with the US data center selected, and it carries a data center selector that changes at least two entitlement rows. The plan cards were recorded on the Yearly toggle with the free trial toggle both on and off; the Tech Specs table and its pricing block were recorded on the Monthly toggle. Hostinger’s plan cards were recorded on the 48 month term. Any figure in this briefing is a figure from that recorded state.

Pricing. Subscription price ranking is excluded. Term prices are recorded where they bear on a documented question. Hostinger’s privacy policy discloses that automated profiling is used to evaluate whether to apply a discount to the price of a product or service, and states that this is not used to increase a price, so an observed discounted checkout price may be account-dependent rather than a universal list price.

Revision dates. Of the eight Namecheap documents cited here, one displays a revision date in the page body, and the data processing addendum displays a date of 27 September 2021. Where a page displays no date, the citation says so and gives the read date instead. Read dates and revision dates are recorded separately throughout.

What was not tested, and why. Performance and availability, because measuring them requires instrumentation this briefing does not have. Cancellation, refund, and downgrade, because executing them destroys the account under test. Support response quality, because one ticket is a sample of one. Whether a checkout in a given country delivers the plan-card figure or the support-database figure, because that requires a purchase.

Corrections to earlier FSR work. This briefing supersedes the uptime and jurisdiction treatment in FSR’s earlier Hostinger and Namecheap comparison, which stated an unqualified 100% figure without its remedy structure and framed the contracting question as European Union against United States.

Commercial and operational relationship. FSR does not place affiliate links in Tier C briefings. This page carries none. FSR pays for its own Hostinger hosting at standard rates and holds no affiliate account with either company. Hostinger’s Terms of Service at section 6.4 prohibit hosted content containing unsubstantiated or comparative claims including claims regarding Hostinger or its services, judged at Hostinger’s sole discretion, and its Hosting Agreement states that all websites associated with a hosting account may be removed if one website is in violation. FSR discloses this because this is a comparative article about Hostinger, hosted on Hostinger, and it is the reason every comparative statement above is tied to a named page, section, and date.

Volatility. Plan limits and contract terms change without notice. Hostinger’s terms state that changes take effect on posting, with email notice and a thirty-day termination right for materially detrimental changes. Namecheap’s terms state that modifications are effective immediately upon posting. Hostinger’s support database states that hosting parameters are subject to change without notice and that plan titles and availability may vary by brand and account.

Hostinger pages cited: Web hosting page · Knowledge Base, parameters and limits of hosting plans · Terms of Service, 15 July 2026 · Hosting Agreement, 2 June 2026 · Refund Policy, 30 June 2026 · Data Processing Addendum, 18 August 2026 · Privacy Policy, 10 July 2026 · List of countries

Namecheap pages cited: Shared Hosting product page and Tech Specs · Universal Terms of Service, May 2026 · Web Hosting Terms of Service, no revision date shown · Web Hosting Acceptable Use Policy, no revision date shown · Uptime Guarantee, no revision date shown · Refund Policy, no revision date shown · Data Processing Addendum, 27 September 2021 · Privacy Policy, no revision date shown · Web Hosting Privacy Policy, no revision date shown

Verdict

Choose by where the numbers live. Namecheap carries a value on eleven of twelve sizing lines on the page where a plan is chosen, and its file limits there are identical to the ones in the policy its Terms of Service incorporate. Hostinger carries a value on five, and two of those five disagree with its own support database. If you have to justify a hosting choice to a colleague, a client, or a procurement function, that gap matters more than any individual figure.

Choose by renewal reversibility. Hostinger’s Refund Policy defines the transaction date to include the date a renewal is processed, which gives thirty days on eligible hosting products subject to its stated exclusions. Namecheap’s position is contradicted between two live documents, one allowing forty-eight hours at discretion and one allowing nothing. Neither position is a promise, but only one of them is unambiguous.

Do not choose from the uptime percentage alone. A 100% figure printed four times with no remedy attached, a ten-day filing window, and payment in service time is a different product from a 99.9% figure with a thirty-day window, a five percent store credit, and an exclusion for email-only outages. Read all four attributes before ranking the two.

Do not choose from the plan card at either company. At Hostinger the reason is in section 02: every cell reading “Unlimited” on the plan card has a finite value on the support page. At Namecheap the reason is in section 06: the card offers a free trial and a money-back guarantee on the same page whose terms exclude an account holder who had a trial package.

FSR did not measure either provider’s performance and makes no claim about which is faster or more reliable in practice. What it compared is which page a buyer has to read to know what they are actually buying, and how far that page sits from the one where the money changes hands.

Sources: this verdict rests entirely on the findings in sections 01 to 08. Every page behind it is cited in those sections and listed in full in the Methodology. No figure appears here that does not appear earlier with its source.

Contact us

Need this done for your own stack?

FSR runs pre-purchase entitlement and contract audits of this kind for buyers evaluating hosting, SaaS, and AI vendors. If you are about to prepay for a multi-year term and need the limits, remedies, and exit terms mapped to the exact plan before you sign, get in touch.

[email protected]

Related FSR briefings

Tier B briefings are hands-on tested inside a paid account. Tier C briefings are document-first, with no hands-on testing. Tier measures evidence depth, not product quality.

Tier B Hostinger renewal pricing: the term discount does not come back

The same question as section 06, from inside a paid account. What happened to the price when the first term ended.

Tier B Mitte AI Review: Strong Output, a Credit Meter That Is Only Sometimes Right, and a Price List That Is Not Public

Section 01 taken to its limit. What a buyer can establish when the price list is not published at all.

Tier C Koinly vs CoinTracker: Why the $49 and $59 Plans Are Not Comparable

Two headline prices that cannot be ranked, in a different category. The comparability problem behind section 01.

Tier C Cursor Pricing in 2026: Plans, Usage Limits, and What the Public Pages Do Not Quantify

The count in section 01 applied to a developer tool. Which limits the public pages state, and which they leave unquantified.

Tier C Runway Pricing 2026: Credits, Seats, and Where Runway’s Documents Contradict Each Other

Section 04 in a different category. One vendor, several live documents, and the points where they do not agree.

Tier C Adobe Firefly Review 2026: Pricing, Unlimited Limits, and Buyer Fit

The word “Unlimited” tested against its own limits, in image generation billing. Sections 02 and 03 in another market.

Correction notice

This page replaces an earlier version published at the same address. It does not sit alongside that version, so the correction appears here rather than on a separate page. Three passages are withdrawn.

Withdrawn 1. The earlier version stated that Namecheap publicly refused to comply with Russian domain seizure requests in 2022. FSR could not support that characterization against the primary record and withdraws it. This page makes no claim about either company’s 2022 actions.

Withdrawn 2. The earlier version presented Namecheap’s 100% uptime figure without its remedy structure, filing deadline, or exclusions. The corrected treatment is in section 05.

Withdrawn 3. The earlier version framed the contracting question as European Union against United States. That framing does not match either company’s published terms. The corrected treatment is in section 08.

Future Stack Reviews is an independent publication. This briefing records what published pages stated on 25 August 2026 and is not legal, tax, or financial advice. It does not state whether any term is fair, standard, enforceable, or compliant with any law. Plan limits and contract terms change without notice. Namecheap’s product page figures depend on the data center and billing toggle selected, and Hostinger states that plan titles and availability vary by brand and account. Verify current figures against both providers before purchasing. This is a Tier C briefing and carries no affiliate or referral links.

Last updated 25 August 2026.